The project of restoration of the upper courtyard of the Lupca Castle is co-financed by the Financial Mechanism of the European Economic Area and the state budget of the Slovak Republic.

    Project name:
    Restoration of the upper courtyard of the Lupca Castle
    Project number:
    Program area:
    Conservation and revitalisation of cultural and natural heritage and Promotion of diversity in culture and arts within European cultural heritage
    Program target:
    Kultúrne dedičstvo sprístupnené verejnosti
    Project duration:
    01/2015 – 11/2015

Total eligible costs of the project: 447 847 EUR

    The EEA Grants and Norway Grants represent the contribution of Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway to reducing economic and social disparities and to strengthening bilateral relations with 16 EU countries in Central and Southern Europe.
    Through the European Economic Area (EEA) Agreement, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway are partners in the internal market with the 28 EU member states. We also share common values and responsibility with other European countries to promote equality of opportunity, tolerance, security, environmental sustainability and a decent standard of living for all.
    Ever since the establishment of the EEA Agreement in 1994, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway have provided funding to reduce social and economic disparities in the EEA. Despite much progress in Europe, gaps in economic development and living standards persist. The expansions of the EU in 2004 and 2007 brought a 20% increase in the EU's population, but only a 5% increase in GDP. Through the EEA and Norway Grants, we are helping to reduce disparities. The funding is targeted on areas where there are clear needs in the beneficiary countries and that are in line with national priorities and wider European goals.

    Strengthening bilateral relations is a primary objective of the EEA and Norway Grants. Strengthening ties between European countries brings mutual benefits for institutions and organisations in both the donor and beneficiary countries.
    To enhance cooperation and knowledge exchange, partnerships between organisations in the donor and beneficiary countries are widely encouraged for mutual benefit and strengthening of the programme and project’s quality. Funds are set aside in all beneficiary countries to support networking and foster project partnerships on initiatives of mutual interest
    The EEA Grants and Norway Grants are set up for five-year periods. For the period 2009-2014, €1.798 billion has been set aside under the Grants.
    The EEA Grants are jointly financed by Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, who contribute according to their size and economic wealth. Of the €993 million set aside for the 2009-14 period, Norway provides 95.8%, Iceland 3.0% and Liechtenstein 1.2%. The Norway Grants are financed by Norway alone and amount to approximately €804 million in this period.

The contribution to the Slovak Republic is more than EUR 80 million for the period 2009 – 2014 and is divided into nine programmes:

    1. Adaptation to Climate Change
    2. Local and Regional Initiatives to Reduce National Inequalities and to Promote Social Inclusion
    3. Conservation and Revitalisation of Cultural and Natural Heritage
    4. Green Industry Innovation
    5. Domestic and Gender-based Violence
    6. Cross-border Cooperation
    7. Scholarships
    8. Global fund for Decent Work and Tripartite Dialogue
    9. Funds for Non-Governmental Organisations


Funding is channelled through 150 programmes in the 16 beneficiary countries. Country allocations are based on population size and GDP per capita, making Poland the largest beneficiary state, followed by Romania, Hungary and the Czech Republic.

More info:

Mini-photo gallery
Click on the small thumbnails to display large photos
Visit our PHOTO GALLERY  for more photos.



Slovak Version
Copyright © Železiarne Podbrezová a.s. 2015, all rights reserved | Webdesign & hosting by ŽP Informatika s.r.o.